Running Wishlist

I keep a “wishlist” folder in my bookmark section for all of those things I find that I know I’ll never reasonably afford, or be able to reason myself into purchasing. It has grown increasingly large over the past year, and after weeding out some of the more exorbitant/crazy impossible items, I figured I may as well share the neater ones here.

I recently bought a vintage red samsonite suitcase at Goodwill for $3.50, satin inside and all. I had been looking for one just like it for years. But, I think these floral suitcases from Lale Toys and Gifts (eventhough they are children’s size) would be every bit as fun, if not more.

Somewhere, lurking around in 1987 there is a photo of me sporting a pair of plastic red star-shaped sunglasses. Sporting these on a sunny day would no doubt put a smile on my face. (Via UO.)

Found My Animal is a pretty awesome foundation that promotes adopting animals and makes rope gorgeous rope leashes, as well as other accessories. “25% of ALL profits go directly to the Louis Animal Foundation, a unique non-profit group dedicated to spaying/neutering and providing homes for animals who have not yet ‘found’ their people.”

I cannot explain my intense fascination with images of atomic testing. When that fascination gets paired with my beloved viewmaster, you can bet I’m on board. These have been on my list for over a year, and at a mere ten bucks, I really have no reason why I haven’t snatched them up, other than loathing paying for shipping.

I am in need of a different “everyday ring”. I gifted myself the Kiel Mead Knot last year, but it gets caught on everything (hair, tights, pockets, jackets, sleeves, carpet, you name it), so I only wear it for special occassions. This dainty, classy rose ring would be perfect.

I already have this American Apparel shirt and wear it almost daily- it’s threadbare. To find the exact same shirt with a gorgeous illustration including some hand drawn typography, as well as my childhood love- hot air balloons- again, something I’ve had on my list for a long time and can’t reason why I haven’t purchased it yet. I only halfway wish it were a different color so that people didn’t think I was wearing the same shirt everyday and just turning it inside out some days.

I absolutely love the idea of marking and maintaining my own “library”, lending books to friends, having them lent to me. These stamps would be perfect for keeping track and adding a personal touch to all the old books I have in my collection. There is something so lovely about the history of a book’s owner being displayed. I get a little giddy when I find a used book that has a plate already in it, telling the story of its previous owner and how much it was loved.

And of course, the pièce de résistance is this Glacier Park Blanket by Pendleton Woolen Mills. I spotted it randomly in a D*Sponge Sneak Peak, but had no idea what it was, then came across it suddenly elsewhere (again, I don’t even recall my path to this beautiful blanket), but somehow I’ve grown very attached without ever even touching one. In fact, I wish so direly (is that even a word?) to possess one and cuddle it that I even almost persuaded Matt to detour our Jellystone roadtip all the way to Glacier Park just to purchase one (do they even still sell them there? were there ever sold there? I have no clue.)

Suffices to say, I would be happy as the ‘gal in this ad if my mitts were beholden such a beautiful blanket (it’s a blanket for cripes sake, right? I know). I would even be satiated by the Yellowstone version with a simple extra yellow pinstripe.

At times, the regulars are on eBay for an ‘affordable’ $60 or so. The new go for around $200. I have yet to see an antique or Yellowstone version. You can find out more about the history of this whole National Parks Blanket scheme here.

As for me, I’m going to go study for my sixth midterm of this term. Only three more to go, but who’s counting? Certainly, I am. Eight days ’til moving day. And yes, that is also something I am counting down to.

Leave a Reply

