Learning To Weld

An update cop-out, perhaps. But I wanted to post a little bit about my first welding experience. One Saturday, not too long ago, I loaded up my bike as Matt headed off to the shop. I had every intention of making my way back in to town (a 30 or so mile ride, avoiding the main highway) but ended up stranded at the shop after encountering an impassible gravel road. I spent a bit of time helping out with various small bug-related projects, until finally I think Matt got frustrated with me being at his heels, looking for things to do, and offered to teach me to weld. He was very straigh-forward and let me loose on a bin full of odds and ends left over from past projects.

I came out of the afternoon with a new number for our apartment, seeing as though it had come to us without. The ‘post-it note’ with a number in pen was getting a bit old.

(Jacket, helmet, and gloves were borrowed, and thus quite large. I will say I was very afraid of flying berries burning me the first few times.)

(Please excuse the cobwebs.)

Leave a Reply

