What have I been up to?

Long story short, I have been working quite a bit. And here is the kicker- I now work at a credit union. The story behind this photograph? This credit union is traditional and tight laced. And so, when I picked up these sweet plaid tights for $4 at TJ Maxx during my third week at the CU, (No joke, four bucks! Heyo!) I was really stoked to implement some color into my wardrobe. You see, the dresscode dictates that I wear really nice clothes every day. And even though I used to love dressing up, it’s been quite some time since I’ve had any reason to spend money on nicer things. So the majority of my wardrobe reflects a kind of world-traveler, mixed aesthetic with a lot of prints and patterns and a love for denim. My nice clothes are all BLACK and GRAY and some shade inbetween.

After three weeks I was dying for some color. So I added these. And was almost immediately pulled into my supervisor’s office and reprimanded. Now, here is the funny twist in our story- the dress code says nothing about patterned tights. Instead, it stipulates “no lace tights”, which I took to mean “no sexy legwear”. In my mind, plaid tights are the furthest from sexy legwear (and Matt will vehemently agree with me on that one). All joking aside, these were meant in fun and I even thought they looked classy with a black sweater dress and those black flats with the roses on them (pictured above). Not so. I guess they were just too loud.

Moral of the story? Stick to the code, keep it boring and simple.

Yes, right. :)

One response to “What have I been up to?

  1. Wah Wah… no fun! Well, we’ll always have the weekends I guess ;)

Leave a Reply

