Buddy

I’m a big time Buddy Holly fan. There’s no hiding that. However, for as much as I truly enjoy his music and get chills every time I hear “Oh boy!” and “Smokey Joe’s cafe”, I really didn’t know too much about him.

For instance, did you know that, when it came to the infamous “day the music died” crash of 1959, it was actually Waylon Jennings who traded seats with Buddy Holly? Jennings was a bassist in Holly’s back-up band, The Crickets, and he gave up his seat on the plane.

Holly joked to Jennings: “I hope your ol’ bus freezes up!”  Jennings shot back with, “Well, I hope your ol’ plane crashes!”

I had no idea the two were so close. Always quite fascinating when you realize yet another way the early music world was connected. Seems like it’s so much more expansive now.

Also, it always blows my mind just a litte to hear someone from the past speaking in an interview.

Paul McCartney narrated The Real Buddy Holly story. You can watch it in segments, or of course rent via Netflix, etc.

Leave a Reply

