Fortunate

Image

 

I come from a long line of strong-willed, able bodied women. Only recently have I been fortunate enough to see this as an advantage. There are so very many sayings that negatively paint our general tendency to become our own Mothers. I’m guilty of citing my worrisome behavior, my (sometimes) overly talkative nature, and my  general restlessness/busybody approach to weekends as evidence that I’m becoming my own mother and reasons to attempt personal change. 

When I took a step back, I realized that all of these things are traits she nourished within me and I credit them (and her) for the person I have become. 

I don’t have slender ladylike arms, or prominent slender hip bones. I have a body that is capable of all the work I demand. It has been an arduous journey discovering the reason for this body, but I am here and I am glad to have it in place of all others. 

I am thankful for my mother, who will always push further, ask more, subtly hint, quietly mull over, and work herself to the bone for the things she wants in this life. I am proud to be her daughter. 

Leave a Reply

